REVIEW: Play It Again by Aidan Wayne

Play It Again First off, I’ll confess that I skipped most of the actual video content narrations in the book.

Sam was exceptionally nice but there was no way was I reading through actual paragraphs of a “Let’s Play” YouTube channel especially for a game I don’t follow. Now, if it was for a “Plant Vs Zombies 2” Let’s Play, I would’ve been ALL over it but as it wasn’t, I skimmed those parts.Additionally, although Dovid’s content was more interesting, I ended up skipping a lot of those as well. There were no hard feelings though as those were just not for me.

Also, I felt like those portions could’ve been summarised or just referred to without the author placing a word by word transcript of their YouTube channel uploads on page.It was too much for me.

Honestly, I was more interested in the MCs and not the whole business of getting Social media monetised and all of that. I just wanted some Sam and Dovid. Simple as that.

Speaking of Sam and Dovid, both men were very sweet, thoughtful, kind and very open about themselves. It was refreshing that even when Sam had family and self esteem issues, it wasn’t forced to become unnecessary drama to “push” the story forward.

I must add that there were no sexy times as one of our MCs was asexual but I didn’t feel it negatively affected the story. It actually kept the focus on the budding relationship and was good for the overall feel of the book I think.

To conclude, I’ll say this was a good story that got waylaid by all the Youtube stuff and definitely had the capacity to be much much better.

My rating: 2.5 of 5 stars

***eARC Graciously Provided by Publisher via Netgalley in Exchange for An Honest Review***

View all my reviews

Leave a comment