REVIEW: Up in Smoke [Hotshots #4] by Annabeth Albert

Up in Smoke (Hotshots #4)This was not my not my favourite in this series but it was still a solid story about the human propensity to love even the midst of upheaval and I liked the relationship development within the story.

Another plus was that it had no drama, which was a pleasant surprise given its premise and had very good writing as is to be expected from Annabeth Albert.

The major issue I had with this book was the pacing. It started off great and ended just as well but somewhere in the middle (which unfortunately was most part of the book), the story got weighed down by the minutiae of navigating the new baby so it dragged the pacing of the book. This made reading boring at some points especially since there wasn’t any firefighting excitement to balance out all the baby stuff.

Also, this was the most isolated book from the other stories. Sure, all the other books were standalone but this was even more so and I don’t know, but coupled with the slow pacing, it affected my enjoyment of the story.

I don’t know if there is another book going to be released for this series but if there is, I pray it’s more exciting than this was.

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

**eARC Graciously Provided by Publisher via Netgalley in Exchange for an Honest, Unbiased Review **

View all my reviews

Leave a comment